HOW TO WRITE A LOVE POEM


This is the third issue on “How to be a Professional Performing Poet.” It’s about writing love poems with sincerity and beauty. Here’s a quiz: When you write a love poem what’s the most important word for your listener?

  • Love
  • Your desire
  • Their passion
  • A diamond ring
  • Their name

If you chose “Their name,” add five stars to your collection.

STAR

COLLECT 5 STARS TO ENTER THE WISDOMGAME HALL OF FAME (BY RSVP ONLY)

CLICK ON THE SMILEY FREAK BELOW.

If I Could Call a Cloud

If I could call a cloud
By naming perfection,
I would bend upon my knee
And call your name:

(Name) (wait repeat name)

To see the bright light of your eyes
And the beauty of your smile,
It makes me laugh.
Oh, warm yellow morning sun,
But it’s only you,
You are so beautiful:

(Name) (Draw out the name)

Gorgeous.
Beyond comparison.
Images can not define
Nor names describe this seduction:

(Name)

So I will not call clouds
Or bow to call your name,
And I will not name perfection.
I will not name perfection
Nor water down this seduction:

(Name)

You are the fragrance of the flower.
The spray, the wave, the whistling breeze,
The air itself.
Bite by bite,
I eat your warm nectar:

(Name)

(Wait. Draw out the name)

Leave a Reply

