The 12 Disciplines of Christ

We have been discussing the difference between literal and figurative interpretations of the Bible and in the previous blog we talked about the New Testament being a manual of higher consciousness wherein Jesus represented imagination. A person of higher consciousness realizes that through their imagination they create Heaven on their Earth. Who then were the disciples?

You Imagine Your Life Into Reality

Neville Goddard says the disciples actually represent disciplines of the mind. When enacted, they produce an imaginative consciousness which is the Son of God. That is, they produce the creative consciousness which imagines life into reality. In Your Faith is Your Fortune, he relates that

The 12 Disciples are Disciplines of the Mind

  • The first quality to be called and disciplined is Simon, or the attribute of hearing.
  • The second quality to be called to discipleship is Andrew, or courage.
  • The third discipline is that of being just, or James the righteous judge, and his brother
  • John, being beloved as the fourth discipline. Justice to be wise must be administered with love.
  • The fifth quality called to discipleship is Philip. This one asked to be shown the Father. The awakened man knows that the Father is the state of consciousness in which man dwells, and that this state or Father can be seen only as it is expressed.
  • The sixth disciple is called Bartholomew. This quality is the imaginative faculty, which is the quality of the mind when one is awake.
  • The seventh is called Thomas. This disciplined quality doubts or denies every rumor and suggestion that are not in harmony with that which Simon Peter has been commanded to let enter.
  • Matthew, the eighth, is the gift of God. This quality of the mind reveals mans’ desires as gifts of God.
  • The ninth disciple is called James, son of Alphaeus. This is the quality of discernment. A clear and ordered mind is the voice which calls this disciple into being.
  • Thaddaeus, the tenth, is the disciple of praise. When this quality of praise and thanksgiving is awake within man, he walks with the words, “Thank you, Father”.
  • The eleventh quality is called Simon of Canaan. A good key phrase for this disciple is “Hearing good news the one who calls this faculty into being has become conscious of the abundant life.”
  • The twelfth and last of the disciplined qualities of the mind is called Judas. When this quality is awake, man knows that he must die to that which he is– before he can become that which he desires to be.


Click Here to read the full text of Neville’s writing titled “Your Faith is Your Fortune.”

 The question for our next blog is “Who was the thirteenth disciple, and what quality did he engender? And what does that have to do with the number 5?”

the hand moves on


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s